Restful Day

8/20/15 (Thursday) in Bend, OR (Bend/Sunriver RV Cmpgrnd-TT)

We proclaim this to be a day of rest. The weather should help – highs in the 80’s instead of the 90’s. To start I slept in until 8, then took all morning to get my “chores” done like posting our blog. John read. He doesn’t want to drive much today. Can you guess why?

In the afternoon, more relaxing, with a short trip to a nearby ROD park (Cascade Meadows). We found out that they have some sewer sites, some of which of 50 amps. There would be no guarantee that our reservation would get us such a site. Plus it’s completely in the open, near a highway, so there’d be highway noise, wind and the full sun. We like our site at Bend much better, so we won’t move to this park for a sewer site.

I love reading in our “backyard”, where there’s shade. A little chipmunk dashed from my feet to a few feet away when I’d turned a page of my book. I’ve seen a chickadee and one morning three large gray squirrels with very bushy tails playing in nearby trees.  The “Dump Site” sign is at the very left of the first photo.  Can you find our rig?

site 1 Dump sign at left site 2

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

