The Great Quarter Mystery Solved!

8/26/15 (Wednesday) in Bend, OR (Bend/Sunriver RV Campground-TT)

Cool, quiet morning. At 10 we left to hike the “Lava Cast Forest” Trail. Well, when we got to the part that said 9 more miles, then gravel road, then we were on washboard, we said “Fahget about it”, deciding to continue on to Bend since we were about 1/3 of the way there anyway. John needed gas. We looked for the Post Office, but couldn’t find it, so stopped at the nearby Fred Meyer for gas. As John was in the line we spotted a Payless Shoe Store and walked over to check out black fancy sandals (for future cruises). I found some darling ones that were also comfortable and on sale. Next to Umpqua Bank (near Fred Meyer also), where we got our laundry quarters and found out where the Post Office was. Off to the the Post Office (inside the Valero fuel store!), getting an envelope and mailing an item of Justin’s (kids’) that we’d accidentally brought with us. Since we were so close, we then went to Fred Meyer, for John to look for shoes. We BOTH found good tennis shoes on sale! Time to head home. Sure was fun, spending money.

After a nice lunch of chicken sandwiches with pepper jack cheese I started my computer to get researching our future campground stops while John started his short project of adjusting our leveler sensor. Voila! He found our previously lost laundry quarters! Wouldn’t you know, we’d looked at that container, but not through it. Guess we’ll have enough for quite awhile now.

By supper time we’d researched up until June 2016. Of course much of that may change, but we prefer to “be prepared” as much as we can. We played a card game again and….I won! How long will this last…stay tuned to find out.

8/27/15 (Thursday) in Bend, OR (Bend/Sunriver RV Campground-TT) Laundry Day

Having scoped out the laundry yesterday and procured plenty of quarters, I drove to the laundry (saw a quail on my way) there and got everything in one large front loading machine for $3.50. It only took 1/2 hour! Ours at home takes 55 minutes while the one in our coach takes 1 hr, 21 minutes. The rest of the morning, in the interest of frugality, I dried our clothes as I read outside our RV. Got to watch the little chickadees that visit our site periodically. Pretty cool day (started at 42 degrees), only reaching 55 degrees by 10, so perfect for all this drying activity.

Unfortunately, after 80 minutes our clothes were NOT dry. I added 20 minutes. No help. Called the Ariston service number, got a referral to a repair person in Bend. We made an appointment for Tuesday. After punching the high/low temp button a few times, we tried the dryer again. Hmm, this time there was heat and after adding 40 more minutes, our clothes were dry… Later, no heat. Just plain off and on heat, so it took all day and after supper, including letting things dry in the air, for it all to get dry. Now that sounds crazy, doesn’t it, when I could just have gone to the laundry and paid a paltry $2-$3 to get it all dry in a half hour. Well, I wanted to be sure how well our dryer was working. You might say I was on a certain path and wanted to stay there. Thus we both spent the day pretty much reading (plus John watched piles of “Love Boat” and “Lone Ranger” shows). We did manage a little walk that takes off near our campsite. Here are some sweet wildflowers that were on that walk.

flowers 1

After our leftover supper we played cards and I lost. John got only 2 points (in “13” you want the least number points), so his luck and skill came back in spades! I say part of that is because he didn’t have any TV show on to distract him. I did suggest that he put one on….but he didn’t bite. So my winning streak has ended already.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Oregon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

