Cascade Lakes Highway: Twin Lakes, Crane Prairie Reservoir and Osprey Point.

9/12/15  (Saturday) in LaPine, OR (Cascade Meadows RV Resort-ROD)

Rough night for both of us, so we slept in this morning. Thus we had a late start (10) to our road trip. To start we got gas at “Gordy’s Truck Stop” in LaPine (great prices), then drove awhile on US 97. Hmm. Did we miss our turn? Long story short we had and eventually found the turn from US 97 onto Hwy 43 – near to Gordy’s as it turned out. It’s Burgess Road, no sign that that road is also Hwy 43! We took that to Hwy 46 which is the actual Cascade Lakes Highway here. The scenic element was mostly Pine trees. We stopped at a little Point of Interest, learning about multi age, same age and turn of the century forest. The USFS managed these forests, giving controlled burns, so the young trees would be able to grow in the multi age forests, then be cut down. The old growth trees (over 100 years old) had 4” thick bark, thus could withstand the ravages of fires.

pine

We went on to North Twin Lake. It and the South Twin Lake are both volcanic crater lakes, glassy smooth and clear. Beautiful. We met a sweet retired couple exploring like us, who’d decided to just sit at this lake, enjoying it’s quiet peacefulness. We had a great time sharing experiences.

n twin 1

The South Twin Lake was more commercial.

s twin 1

On to Crane Prairie Reservoir. First we turned off to the Dam. It’s a surprisingly small earthen dam, for creating a 4,000 acre lake.

crane 1 crane 2

We kept going down this rough dirt road, thinking it would also lead to Osprey Point. After several miles we decided to turn back to Hwy 46/Cascade Lakes Highway. I’m sure glad because we did then eventually come to a sign for Osprey Interpretive Trail. Their signs could be a bit clearer… Lovely little ½ mile hike to the water and where they signs say that Osprey, Wood Ducks and Canadian Geese nest. We didn’t see any of their nests and none wanted to fly in the middle of a very hot day, it seemed.

osprey 1 osprey 1a osprey 2

Shortly down the road was Quinn River campground, so we stopped there for our picnic lunch, then decided to go home. We relaxed there with TV, although I fell asleep (ah, sweet naps).

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

