Moving on – to Redding, CA

9/15/15  (Tuesday) in Redding, CA ( Redding RV -Enjoy America)

Leaving a day early to get ahead of the rain storm. Brrr. 27 degrees when we got up. I think it managed a whopping 30 degrees by the time we left. Thank heavens John thought to pull in our sewer and water hoses last night-they’d have been miserably stiff. Our front door even had hoar frost on it. You can’t say RV travelers aren’t hardy. The engine grumbled some and the HWH levelers didn’t want to come up. John put them down, cleaned the notorious back two and they came up fine. Whew! On our way before 8. Simple route: US 97 S to I-5 (Weed, CA), where we’d get fuel, then continue on I-5 until the exit for our campground. The bad news: it’s a 260 mile trip.

The first scenery was a LOT of pine trees lining the road. US 97 is primarily straight, so people can pass if they want. Plus there were passing lanes, even where it was level. We saw swans on Upper Klamath Lake! Hard to believe. Then egrets in a field. How far south did we get?

ca

Once we neared and were in California, there were farms. Just after the border we had to stop for “inspection”. They wanted to know about any fresh produce, particularly citrus, that we might be carrying. Our luck some very talkative driver in front of us took a lot of time before moving on. Also any vehicle towing has a speed limit of 55mph, whereas all but trucks can do 65mph.

We saw Mount Shasta, but covered in clouds. Our windshield had also collected a great number of bigger bugs so my photo is dotted!

shasta

After Weed (I-5) we were pretty soon into the Siskiyou mountains. John was grateful he’s now driving the Winnebago, it handles so much better than the Safari. Since the majority of our miles have been more down than up, at one point our mpg average for this trip since refueling in Rufus hit 10! That gets John pretty excited. When we crossed the bridge over Lake Shasta I got excited. So beautiful, the red dirt sloped sides, the gorgeous blue lake. Unfortunately I couldn’t get a good photo because it was on our left and right, where I can’t shoot through the window screens.

We arrived just after 1, eating lunch by 2. Nice place with FHU, 50 amps, paved streets and sites (level), even free WiFi and cable. We enjoyed a clear sky for our TV satellite. We walked around a few times to stretch our legs and met some nice people. One couple is staying here while they look for property in Redding. They are moving from Portland because the wife gets migraine headaches when the barometer changes. The places with the least barometer changes are Hawaii, Tuscon and Redding! She felt Hawaii would be too confining and Tuscon too much of desert, so Redding won their hearts. It gets the same amount of rain as Portland, but in heavier, short time frames, and it’s warmer here.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

