Moving on – to Manteca, CA

9/22/15  (Tuesday) in Manteca, CA (Turtle Beach Resort -TT)

We planned a late start to miss the commuter traffic in Sacramento and Stockton and because we are only 90 miles away. Thank heavens because I got an email this morning that our friends Janet and Roger are here! They didn’t realize we’d be leaving today. Luckily they stopped by when we’d gotten the slides in and jacks up but before we wanted to get moving, so we had a great tiny visit, even introduced them to Nita, before we left. We had to dump (no sewers here), but were on our way by 9:30.

I was concerned about the freeway being rough, especially through Stockton, because of my memories of our last journey through there. Thankfully, they must have been working on it these past 3 years we’ve been gone. They’re still working on it in Stockton but overall the road was decent, just some tight lanes where they’re adding more lanes. Then, soon after Stockton, the traffic was super congested, we’d lost a lane (accident that was almost all cleaned up). We kept moving, so that was good.

I’ve been surprised at the decent roads. I’d read on Facebook that California roads were terrible but that hasn’t been where we’ve driven so far. Maybe it’s Southern California. We arrived by 11:30, just as predicted.

Love Turtle Beach Resort! It’s small, with about 39 FHU sites and 17 water/electric. Lots of dry camping that is in the open and not so grassy. We found out that a reservation here does NOT guarantee a FHU site, but you do have a better chance. We also made our reservation at 120 days out, so I think that helped as well. Apparently very few people asked to camp here this day, so that’s how we really lucked out: we have a Full HookUp Site, including 50 amps power, with a grassy site and concrete pad. Our backyard is facing the San Joaquin River. PLUS there are huge trees shading our rig.

turtle 3

They were trimming the branches from “our” shade trees when we arrived, so we waited in the sun awhile, then they needed to leave for lunch so we parked in our site but didn’t set slides out or jacks down. We did enjoy lunch, then they came to finish the job. John supervised while I took a nap. Hey, there’s something about eating lunch on a warm day, then reading that just brings on a nap.

When the trimming was finished we got settled in, I started washing our sheets and we headed out for groceries (nearby – nice). When we arrived we noticed our generator was on. Hmm. Apparently it came on soon after we left. I suspect it was because running the A/C plus washing machine plus dryer pulled too much (hey, 50 amps felt like all the power we’d ever need), so the generator kicked in. John turned it off and got the power going again. Ah, never a dull moment.

After dinner, when it had cooled down, we took a walk around the campground. Quiet, low key place. Great if you love to fish or just relax. There is even an earthen dam near the lodge (which has WiFi).

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

