El Jardin and Generator Starts Again

9/24/15  (Thursday) in Manteca, CA (Turtle Beach Resort -TT)

We watched Pope Francis address the Congress this morning. Wonderful, challenging messages. I hope it helps Congress strive to move in better directions, especially toward more cooperation. I then spent some time on the Internet. Got the wash going as well; it’s going to be another hot day. I’m thinking we started south too early.

As it got hot in the afternoon I set up my chair on the bank behind our Miss Journey, to enjoy the shade, breezes and sights. The green vegetation moves with the current. That surprised me. There are also a couple Great Egrets/Great White Herons and a Great Heron that hang out in our area, so they were fun to watch.

A view of the San Joaquin Rover from the path behind our rig. Such a great place to relax.

turtle 1 turtle 2

When it got to be supper time we headed for Manteca and “El Jardin”. So glad we heard about it. Super service (almost like they read your mind), delicious, flavorful, HOT food. John asked for another basket of chips so he could eat more of the salsa. Reasonably priced plus lots (3 boxes) left over. The place was crowded when we arrived (5:30?), but we were seated immediately. When we left there was a line.

Costco was our next destination, it’s even closer to our campground than Manteca. It’s such a treat to have these places (malls, grocery stores, Costco) so near where we’re staying!

Unfortunately, quite a surprise awaited our arrival home. The generator was running again. It had been on about an hour. Our “canary” clock indicated that we’d lost power then as well. Hmm. Everything at the pedestal seemed just fine. John noted that our generator must miss us… it waits until we’ve been gone to spring this on us. Something must be happening at the pedestal: either it truly loses power for enough time to call up our generator or it has power surges, so our surge protector ends our connection to it and thus we need the generator’s power, like what happened at Lake Whitney. The strange thing is why does it have to happen when we go grocery shopping? I’m sure it’s just a coincidence but still….

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

