Yosemite National Park

10/8/15  (Thursday) in Bass Lake, CA (Bass Lake Recreational Resort -ROD)

On our way by 8:30, Yay! Still, it took an hour to get to the south entrance ($30/car or free with Senior Pass). Great day, weather wise, sunny with highs in the 80’s. Since we were here 3 years ago, given a great tour by my cousin Roni, we started with the places we hadn’t been able to see then. To see our photos from that first visit on10/16/12, go to LINK.

Mariposa Grove (huge sequoia trees) unfortunately was closed for restoration until 2017. I was so looking forward to that one! On we went to Wawona Hotel, Wawona Visitor Center (former art studio for Thomas Hill), and the Pioneer Yosemite History Center:

They turned off the water when we left, so we think it’s because conservation is really important here.

Wawona Hotel

Wawona Hotel

At the Visitor Center. Thomas Hill was a Hudson School painter before moving to California.

At the Visitor Center. Thomas Hill was a Hudson School painter before moving to California.

yosem 3 yosem 4 

At Pioneer Yosemite History Center

At Pioneer Yosemite History Center

yosem 6

Yosemite’s only 2 story log home, built in 1879

Powder house, then jail

Powder house, then jail

yosem 9

a Stellar’s Jay came visiting

yosem 8 

Walk along Wawona Meadow Loop. It was 3.5 miles round trip, but we shortened it some

Walk along Wawona Meadow Loop. It was 3.5 miles round trip, but we shortened it some

Next we drove along the Glacier Point Road to

View from Washburn Point. Can you spot the waterfalls? One is in the top right shaded area, the other lies in the lower left sunny area.

View from Washburn Point. Can you spot the waterfalls? One is in the top right shaded area, the other lies in the lower left sunny area.

yosem 12 yosem 13

Glacier Point, where you will see Overhanging Rock, with Yosemite Falls to the right (no water, just black streaks to the right of the that rock where the water may fall in the Spring

Glacier Point, where you will see Overhanging Rock, with Yosemite Falls to the right (no water, just black streaks to the right of the that rock where the water may fall in the Spring

yosem 14

Also the valley, with Half Dome on the right, and North Dome (foreground) and Basket Dome (behind North Dome) facing Half Dome on the other side of the valley.

Also the valley, with Half Dome on the right, and North Dome (foreground) and Basket Dome (behind North Dome) facing Half Dome on the other side of the valley.

Our next hike was to Sentinel Dome (on Glacier Point Road, prior to reaching Glacier Point). We knew this would be a 1 mile hike in, but not that it included steep, rough terrain and getting the to very top of Sentinel Dome. Wow, though, the view was worth it!

yosem 18

Recognize Half Dome and North/Basket Domes?

yosem 16 yosem 17

El Capitan on right, with valley below. Lots of haze in the air.

El Capitan on right, with valley below. Lots of haze in the air.

 

John is as tall as Half Dome!

John is as tall as Half Dome!

Trish riding a log next to El Capitan.

Trish riding a log next to El Capitan.

A young, energetic couple. I was trying to be surrreptitious with taking their photo (friends were outside the frame), so I moved the camera before it had saved to disk, thus it's blurry, but I just had to share!

A young, energetic couple. I was trying to be surrreptitious with taking their photo (friends were outside the frame), so I moved the camera before it had saved to disk, thus it’s blurry, but I just had to share!

A young, energetic couple. I was trying to be surrreptitious with taking their photo (friends were outside the frame), so I moved the camera before it had saved to disk, thus it’s blurry, but I just had to share!

We’d considered hiding to Taft Point, but we were SO tired and my feet hurt, so we drove to Raley’s (grocery store) in Oakhurst, then straight home, had supper and crashed for the night. No traveling tomorrow. We must be getting older….how could that be?

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California, National Parks (NPS) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

