Yosemite National Park

10/13/15  (Tuesday) in Bass Lake, CA (Bass Lake Recreational Resort -ROD)

Another day at this marvelous park, which, by the way, is in the Sierra National Forest. We plan to return some spring, when it’s so much greener and the water is flowing. We’re hoping that the super el nino happening this year will bless California with the water/snow they so desperately need. We were here almost exactly 3 years ago and we could sure tell there was less water. Plus the fall is when you have the least water anyway!

Today we visited the Yosemite Valley. Last Thursday we dedicated to the high areas that we didn’t see at all on our one day with Roni. LINK

After the mile long tunnel, you are greeted with this amazing view (Tunnel View) of the valley and its mountains. The haze you see is because of several fires that had started Oct. 6th, happening throughout the park.

valley 1

Next stop: Bridalveil Falls. The heavy smoke you saw in the prior photo is from the Bridalveil fire, where we saw helicopters hauling water to it.

valley 2 valley 3

On to the Swinging Bridge. Here again we could see the drop in water levels, yet it was still beautiful.

valley 4 valley 5 valley 6

We were getting hungry, so we drove to the Curry Parking lot, finding 1 picnic table among the bear proof storage boxes. Unfortunately, a climber had his gear pretty much covering that table, but I asked if he’d mind if we ate on it. He said no problem, so we put our tablecloth over half and enjoyed our lunch. We had a couple choices then, the trail to Vernal Falls and Niagara Falls as well as Happy Isle Nature Center. We chose to walk that trail first. It was quite steep for about .8 of a mile, where a footbridge let you get a glimpse of the Vernal Falls. We figured that would be plenty and we were right. I was so grateful that at least the whole path was paved. I couldn’t resist a photo of the unique Yosemite squirrel we saw on our way to the Vernal Falls trail.

valley 7 valley 8

valley 9

This is the Merced river, more rocks than water.

Finally, we reached our goal of the footbridge where we get a peak at Vernal Falls! That was a rough slog and going down was even harder on my knees (going up was hard on John’s knees).

valley 10

At this point I still wanted to investigate the Happy Isle (islands!). John wanted to rest! It was a pleasant stroll in the Sierra Forest with some glimpses of the river, but not the beauty I was expecting.

valley 11

Then we drove to the Yosemite Visitor Center parking area, getting to walk another 10 minutes to the actual Center. Behind that building was the theater, where we watched 2 excellent movies about Yosemite. Then headed out, getting another drive through that cool tunnel, to home.

El Capitan, as we were driving on the Northside drive towards the tunnel.

El Capitan, as we were driving on the Northside drive towards the tunnel.

As we drove past the campground office we noticed the recently felled trees. They are cutting around 100 trees, dead from the pine bark beetle. It has ravaged this area. You can see those dead and dying trees in this photo of El Capitan, also taken from the road as we left the park.

valley 13

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California, National Forest (USFS), National Parks (NPS) and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

