Moving on – to Acton, CA

On our way by 8:20. Nice sunny/cloudy day. We could have gone south on Hwy 65 (shorter), but chose SR 99 because it went past a Flying J, where we prefer to get fuel. Also, SR 99 is a freeway (state), so 4 lanes and that’s always nice. Good road, with some bumps at the overpasses/bridges. We came up behind another RV at the Flying J pump. He was waiting for the propane guy, then needed to get his fuel. So it was 40 minutes before we left there. Glad we left early, although he may have been gone when we arrived later. Anyway, it was a good time to get some DEF (John gets it in a 2.5 gallon jug/box that he carries) and clean the windshield.

At Bakersfield we exited onto SR 58. This road was not so smooth around Bakersfield, but we figured going through the Tehachapi Pass (it recently was closed for a severe mudslide) would be easier than the “Grapevine” part of I-5 (near Lebec and Gorman) which we’ve been told is steeper, curvier, and goes near Los Angeles traffic. That city is crazy with traffic, sometimes carrying 10 lanes of cars. At Mohave we took SR 14 S to Crown Valley Rd exit, arriving at our campground by 12:25.

We were here 3 years ago, but a lot has changed. They say that ELS has put over $1 million dollars into this park. They certainly have improved the looks: NEW Landscaping, Welcome Center, Family Center, Adult Center, pool (heated) and spa (hot). We even saw wildlife (a coyote in the campground on our way to the Welcome Center). Note: I think we hear the coyotes calling/barking at night. Plus there used to be people living here permanently that left lots of crud in their sites. Those are cleaned up, with empty sites available along that section (overlooking the canyon). They are currently working on the power issues, slowly adding 50 amp pedestals. We lucked into a 50 amp site (free), up the hill in “N” section (N 207), with open skies for satellite reception, along with the FHU. They are periodically cutting off the power to work on it, so it was off when we arrived, but on by 2. They have a large, warm hot tub (plus cool pool) too. Very large place with over 700 campsites (most are weak 30 amp), with fairly spacious sites. LOTS of great things to see/do in the area that we never had a chance for last time, even a train (Metrolink) that leaves about 6 miles away from Acton for Los Angeles. Great, friendly, helpful staff.

camp 1 camp 2

For a treat after a travel day, and a change of pace, John thought it would be fun to go out for pizza tonight. I checked our list of Guy Fieri’s “Diners, Drive Ins and Dives” and found Crazy Otto’s Diner in Acton. We asked some staff about pizza and they made some suggestions, including Crazy Otto’s. They’re mostly known for their breakfasts but have been serving dinner for a while now. It was great, the pizza, and the place. We plan to return for a try at their breakfasts.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

