Vasquez Rocks Natural Area

10/31/15  (Saturday) in Acton, CA (Soledad Canyon-TT)

Our friends Shirley and Larry took us to a great Mexican Restaurant (Maria Bonita) in their town of Agua Dulce  next to the Sweetwater Farms grocery store in their downtown. We had fun visiting with them before and after our yummy meal there yesterday. They also told us about a good place to visit, Vasquez Rocks Natural Area, so we went there today with another friend, Paulette. The cool thing here is that we’d met Shirley/Larry and Paulette just as we and they were all beginning our adventures traveling the country in our retirement. This place is the first time we all were able to get together.

They have a neat visitor center where we learned lots about the history and geology of the area. We’d hoped for a demonstration of some of their wild animals (being rehabilitated), but they only do that with groups of school children.

Visitor Center

Visitor Center

Remember Zorro? The Mexican who inspired that “Robin Hood” hid out in the rocks here, Turburcio Vasquez.

rocks 2

They also have films movies here including “Star Trek IV”, “Flintstones”, “Planet of the Apes,” and “Windtalker”.

Images from the Geology Trail:

rocks 4 Hogback Ridges

Hogback Ridges

rocks 5 Desert Varnish

Desert Varnish

Horse Riders

Horse Riders

 Saddle Back Mountain

Saddle Back Mountain

The Tatavium peoples lived here. We saw a site where they lived and left pictographs.

Tatavium Dwellling

Tatavium Dwellling

Tatavium Pictrgraph

Tatavium Pictrgraph

Vasquez Rocks where Vasquez hid

Vasquez Rocks where Vasquez hid

 Vasquez Rocks from other side. If you click to enlarge you will see people on the rocks.

Vasquez Rocks from other side. If you click to enlarge you will see people on the rocks.

We considered having our picnic lunch there, but the benches were in full sunshine on a pretty hot day, so we drove home, to enjoy our picnic in the shadow of Miss Journey, at our own picnic table.

Hope all had a fun Halloween. We just played it quiet and watched “Saving Mr. Banks”, an excellent movie.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

