Diamond Valley Lake and Reservoir

11/20/15 (Friday) in Menifee, CA (Wilderness Lakes-TT)

John was feeling better today so Paulette drove us to a favorite place of hers nearby, Diamond Valley Lake. This beautiful lake was formed to create a 6 month emergency water source (reservoir) for San Diego County and the surrounding area. At 4,500 acres it’s Southern California’s largest freshwater reservoir. Local visionaries saw that the hills circling this area could, with a little help (3 dams connecting the hills where the land was low), create this great lake. It’s not fed by a river, but by the San Diego Canal which brings water (13,000 gallons per second) from the Colorado River to the pumping station, where it’s pumped into the lake. Similar to Corps of Engineer projects, having created this lake the engineers also provided recreational opportunities like hiking and a Science Center. This museum has archeological finds that resulted from their digging out this lake.

Pristine lake (fishing is allowed but no gas engines), with the inlet/outlet tower on the left of the first image.

Did you see the way they carved out rock from one hill? That hill provided the best rock for creating the dam you see in the photo after that hill.

Below you see the power plant with a huge concrete reservoir in front, now empty of water. Beyond you can find 2 more reservoirs, one with some water and to the left of it a dirt one without water. Paulette said that every other time she’s come here there had been water in all of those reservoirs.

lake 6

Power Plant directing water from San Diego Canal to Diamond Valley Lake

This is all free, a beautiful, serene place. You also get a sense of this area’s geography. Our campground is just the other side of the hills you see in the power plant picture.

Thank heavens we got to enjoy that beautiful place because I got John’s cold/flu by that night! So more laying low until we leave for Hawaii. We’re SO thankful that Townsend Mobile Repair will be able to take in our Miss Journey for water leak repairs while we’re gone. The leak is largely behind the utility service area and not likely to damage our floors but it is rusting the metal behind that door.

Lake 6

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

