Hawaii Part 1

12/17/15 (Thursday) in Menifee, CA (Wilderness Lakes-TT)

Since I didn’t want to take my computer and camera to Hawaii to create blog posts, I took photos with my cell phone (SO much smaller, offering so much more help as well) and posted on Facebook.

Here is a recap, for those who aren’t on Facebook with me:

11/29 Greetings from Mt. Haleakala, on Maui, Hawaii. With John Elser and my cousin Judy Andre. That same evening we strolled the beach; from mountain to ocean.

11/30 Adventures in Hawaii included the Maui Ocean Center, the Banyon tree in Lahaina, and a luau at Old Lahaina.

12/1,2 We were worn out by Tuesday, so we chilled at the condo, wading in the ocean at sunset. Wednesday Judy Andre went on a guided tour on”The Road to Hana” then on through Central Maui. We relaxed at the condo after exploring beaches to snorkel.

12/3 We visited the I’ao Valley, where we saw the I’ao Needle, a mountain that is shaped like a plate and stands on its end. We also saw various memorials of the first immigrants. Last night we enjoyed a fabulous meal of local Hawaiian food from Da Kitchen. www.Dakitchen.com. We had leftovers from just 2 meals.

12/4 Today John Elser, Judy Andre and I went snorkelling. The waves were kind of rough at the first beach plus we couldn’t find the coral so we rinsed off, moving on to Makena Landing Beach. This was a much better experience with calmer waters, coral, and fish. No pictures of us because I didn’t bring my phone. Judy got knocked down a few times but she’s a real trooper and snorkeled the whole time we did. We had the BEST Hawaiian lunch ever from this food truck. Our first experience with a food truck as well. Now relaxing on our Tony Bahama chairs at the beach near our condo.

12/5 Arrived at our condo in Kauai. Here is the view from our lanai. Judy Andre is looking out.

19

12/6 Fun sights this afternoon:

12/7 Today we all went snorkeling at Lawa’i Beach. Best experience so far: so many colorful fish, coral, and such clear water. Getting in and out is still a struggle for Judy Andre and we haven’t got her mask adjusted right, yet her experience was more fun than before. We had lunch from a food truck in Koloa, and shopped at the best Farmers Market. Everyone had to wait before they allowed us in. So much native fruit. Judy and I tried the lychee fruit (red – taste like grapes) and passion fruit (yellow and tastes like tart pineapple.

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Hawaii. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

