Teeth Cleaned and Cavities Filled in Algodones, Mexico

1/13/16 (Wednesday) in Winterhaven, CA (Pilot Knob-ROD)

We’ve arrived at Pilot Knob, an ROD campground just west of Winterhaven, CA, which is just west of Yuma, AZ. I must say this is the most run down campground of the ROD’s we’ve been to, but it’s still nice; FHU (30/50 amps), though you must pay $5/day for utilities, either amperage. Since it’s in the desert the sites are level, graveled, with a concrete pad and picnic table, fairly spacious. Few trees, mostly shorter, so no issues with TV satellite reception. They have some activities (bingo, pokeno, meals, ice cream social), as well as a swimming pool and hot tub. It’s best feature: it’s just 5 miles from the parking lot next to Algodones, Mexico. There we got our teeth cleaned and cavities filled at Oasis Dental Group (from a recommendation). Both of us were impressed with the service; efficient and competent. The cost for a total of 7 cavities filled with resin composite, along with X rays and teeth cleaning was $700 (+3% for credit card use). We’d heard from lots of RVers that they were quite happy with their dental work at certain Mexican border towns. On the recommendation of one of our RV friends, we went to Oasis Dental Group (you can Google them). To be honest, the images on the website were not what we saw, exactly. Yes, the front of the building they’re in was the same but it just was not as impressive next to its neighbors. Next time I’ll take photos. We were just more focused on finding the place and getting to our appointment today. Inside they are busy remodeling, so you know how things can look while that’s happening. The Pharmacy (Tury) is what you first see as you walk in, then the dental area is further back. Lots of Americans getting work done as we waited our turn. They used a couple things our dentist doesn’t even use: digital X rays. The best part of their X ray machine is that it’s small and portable, held by the assistant. The dentist then held the receptor (sort of like a mini I pod) up against my teeth. NO BITE WINGS, no biting down. I have a small mouth, so that was just wonderful. Once he’d taken all the images, he brought them up on a computer screen, to talk to me about them. Cool. Best of all, he explained more by putting a small wand with light and camera at the end in my mouth which sent an immediate display on the computer screen. Super cool. I got to see my cavities, then when everything was done (I had 5 cavities), I got to see my teeth with the work completed. Very pain free delivery of Novocain (I had choices for other local anesthetics), no pain while he did the cavity removal work. He even noted that if I drank lots of water the Novocain numbing effect would leave sooner. Amazing the things you learn after all these years.

John had his teeth cleaned, 2 cavities filled without Novocain by the time I was finished with just my teeth cleaning. I did have lots of questions….

Everyone spoke English, although the receptionist was the most fluent. She’d been in the US from 5 years old until she was 18.  I even got to keep the X ray images (on paper).

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

