Sunnylands

2/20/16 (Saturday) in Desert Palms, CA (Palm Springs-TT)

Honest, we just hung out at the campground pretty much all week. Monday I received my Zumba Gold “Live It Up” DVD set. So exciting! Now I’ll be able to do the same exercises that I do here, when we are away, using our outdoor TV and DVD player. John got to play golf while I cleaned house, then relaxed. We played “Fast Track” with friends that night.

Tuesday I did my Zumba exercises and water exercises, then we enjoyed lunch at Mario’s with the Lewis and Clark group. We had so much fun many of us then went to play “Fast Track” at the campground until suppertime. We dashed on to see our Canadian friends who’d offered us free movie tickets earlier, fearing they’d missed connecting about the tickets since we’d been gone so much of the day. When we saw them they said they’d left the tickets at our rig, so we were good and had a nice visit before going home. We picked our friends up at 6:30 to get to the 7:30 movie early. Unfortunately, we were far from early; we were at the end of a very long line. It seemed like there were 1,000 people there! Thank heavens we found seats and had a great time watching “Race”. Very good show, with people clapping several times.

Wednesday morning, as I left to donate my blood at the bloodmobile, I realized that I’d left my large brimmed new hat at the Family Lodge where we’d played “Fast Track” on Tuesday. Frantically I asked the rangers I ran into about it as I went to that Lodge. Right, not there, just like they said. Nope, not at lost and found either. Sheesh. I stopped at Nancy/Roger’s to ask if they’d seen it, they had but didn’t realize it was mine. Then when I tried to give blood at the mobile bloodmobile, they said that if I was in Mexico in the last 28 days they couldn’t take it. Dang. When I was leaving, I ran into John as he was returning from the grocery store. He noted that we’d visited Algadones last on Jan 15th, so I was past the 28 days. So I returned and was able to give my blood. Then we took off for our Fandango movie, “Renevant”. Wow, just a great movie. I thought it would be filled with violence, but the worst really mostly happened at the beginning. Since I’d gotten a free complementary Jack in the Box combo meal for my blood donation, we went there (very close to the theater) for a late lunch. Fun day, except for losing my hat.

Thursday morning, before doing my walking and water exercises, I checked two more Lost and Found places I’d learned of within the campground, but no hat. This time our Fandago movie was “13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi”. Super wow. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. SO much action. We learned so much about what happened there that the news never shared. My favorite in our 3 movie extravaganza. You know, I wondered how we’d manage with so many movies in a row when we rarely go to movie theaters (once a year at the most). It was fun and I was ready to go see some more! After this last movie, though, we went to Costco right away (also quite close to our theater) and bought another hat, just like the one I’d lost. Ah, all better again.

hat

Friday was our day of rest (after my morning exercises).

Saturday we did the odd thing again and LEFT the campground! This time we visited Sunnylands, a beautiful retreat area with a glass walled building, exquisite Asian glass collection, small cafe and gift shop.  36 unique glass pieces were created as gifts from our country to various Asian countries.  All but 13 were given away.  The Annenbergs bought those 13 and commissioned Steuben Glass to create the pieces that had been given away.  The retreat center/glass building is surrounded by desert gardens, including a walking labyrinth. Lots of flowers on the cacti as well. I was especially entranced with the little hummingbird drinking from those flowers. Lots of artists there, painting too. Perfectly lovely for inspiration and meditation. Last week President Obama met with other leaders here. This is all free, granted by the Annenberg’s who set up this place specifically for world leaders to meet. Their mid century home is also available for touring, but you need to get your tickets for it online ahead of time. We won’t be here long enough now, but maybe next time.

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

