Los Angeles: Petersen Auto Museum and at Koreatown: Hmart

3/11/16 (Friday) in Acton, CA (Soledad RV Park-TT)

It just so happened that we’d scheduled eating breakfast out with Nancy/Gary, whom we’d met when we arrived here. This was our last chance before they left tomorrow. We invited Jinhee/Richard to come as well. Crazy Otto’s is definitely worth a visit! HUGE breakfast for small price (pancakes as big as a dinner plate), that tasted great too. We spent a good hour and half sharing RV experiences there. Back to the campground, then off to LA. Even though there were high winds predicted for the morning and rain in the afternoon, Jinhee still wanted to drive us all to LA. She’d prefer that to taking the train. She sure impresses me!

I got to sit up front and be the navigator, using her Google GPS on her phone. That was fun, learning to use that GPS. We dropped the guys off at Petersen’s Auto Museum, where they saw fancy and rare cars.

We continued on Wilshire Blvd for a mile or so to Koreatown, which takes up 10 city blocks. Jinhee pulled into a bus stop lane to look up a Korean grocery store, so that’s how we figured out where we were going. They had underground parking. Jinhee said that all Korean places of business, as long as they were within a Koreantown area, give you free parking. We just had to have our ticket validated at the store.

Inside I started taking photos, but was kindly stopped by a security guard who explained that “they” (owners) didn’t want anyone taking pictures. Thus you see what I did get. This was a very large store with so much interesting food. Jinhee said the produce is pretty much all grown in the area. They eat lots of greens, weeds, seaweed. There was a whole aisle devoted to seaweeds! Another to Kimchee. Lots of fresh fish, all sorts I hadn’t ever seen before. Jinhee said Korean people are very serious about their food, making sure the flavors and textures are just right. John and I had a taste of the Korean BBQ sauce that Jinhee had made and we love it. She uses pureed pear (Asian) for the sugar. She said she’s going to show me how to make it. We enjoyed a wonderful lunch there, at the store. She even bought some Korean snacks/treats for us to try later.

When we finally finished our lunch and paid for our groceries, we were taking the cart into the garage when it just locked up. Oops, we hadn’t noticed the signs that warned if the cart went past the yellow line/posts it would lock. So Jinhee got her car and brought it to a spot nearby and we loaded the groceries from the stricken cart. Meanwhile I was contacting John. Apparently he and Richard had been ready to leave an hour earlier. Plus it was POURING RAIN outside. So we made our way to where they were, picked them up, then continued home. Even though it was only around 3pm there was a great deal of congestion, car accidents, water pouring off roofs, down alongside curbs. Jinhee’s GPS suggested a quicker route so she said “take it”. Well, it took us up a very twisty, steep hill for several miles, even into Bel Air and Mulholland Drive. She was pretty calm about it-we sure saw cool houses and landscaping. SO steep. So glad we were in a car, not an RV. An RV never would have made those curves. Eventually we reached US 101, then I-5 and on to home. Lovely light in the mountains as we neared home. Beautiful end to a beautiful day. Thanks, Jinhee!!!

**mountains

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

