Moving on – to Paicines, CA

3/24/16 (Thursday) in Paicines, CA (San Benito-TT)

On our way before 8:30, just US 101N. We’re going beyond where we should be turning off US 101N to get fuel in Salinas. They call this a freeway in places, but there just aren’t the big rig fuel stops along the way like there are on the “real” Interstates. This trip there were stretches of “not so smooth” road, patchy. Lots of lovely green scenery, lots of vineyards, though few cities (translation: little traffic). 4 lanes all the way to Salinas. There was a Valero fuel station just before King City that would have been good to stop at, spacious with diesel fuel, but we saw it too late to take an exit. From Salinas we took CA 156E, then Union Rd that connected us with CA 25S. Not so bad, 2 lane roads. Lots of curves, but not really tight.

IMG_3672

We arrived at 11:40, so that felt good. Lovely park with lots of wildlife. The ranger called us the day before we arrived to warn us about needing to drive past the ranger gate to the welcome center and to be sure to have the driver’s license plus insurance and registration paperwork for both (all) our vehicles. We’ve been traveling up US 101N. It’s a great 4 lane freeway (no lights). Hwy 25 (Airline Rd) is 2 lane but not bad, then Cienega, the “driveway” into the campground. It’s a bit tight and twisty, but you just go slow. The best part, on arrival, is that the ranger taking our paperwork then found a site that fit our “requests” and drove ahead of us to that site: #320. We have FHU (50 amps cost $5/day). If you have a 50 amp plug on your rig, you are required to use a 50 amp site. Adapters (down to 30 amp) are not allowed. This is a beautiful site, with short trees on both sides, nice space, along with satellite TV reception. The power is strong and so is the water pressure. We’re also close to a bathroom as well as the Store/Welcome Center and the Adult Lodge where you can get free WiFi. We’re extending our stay to 3 weeks, because Russian River (our next stop) doesn’t have sewer hookups, nor 50 amp sites. Plus we’ve heard it’s tight for big rigs.

We enjoyed a nice walk around the campground, then settled in for the evening.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

