Moving on – to Klamath, CA

4/26/16 (Tuesday) in Klamath, CA (Golden Bear RV Resort-PPA)

Yesterday I got ambitious and after cleaning house I cleaned all our windows and screens, including on the outside (via a ladder). What a difference-such a clear view now.

John timed everything well this morning. At 9 we started pulling in the slides, jacks up, and unhooked from utilities. Then our friendly campground manager talked awhile, showing us photos of his rooms built inside a redwood stump (near our site, available for rent). It is beautiful.

 

Then we trundled over to the dump site, got rid of our gray water and drove separately to the Renner fuel station in Scotia. They have the cheapest fuel around and are big rig friendly. After fueling both RV and car we hooked up the car and were off by 10! Just what we were aiming for, since this was a short trip, all on US 101N. It was 4 lane, with stoplights at Eureka…. More lovely scenery. North of Eureka, nearing the Redwood National Park the road became 2 lane with passing lanes, then to 4 lanes after that Park.

A simple left turn off US 101 got us right into Golden Bear RV Resort. It’s completely open, so TV was good, as well as cell phone reception which was okay. $150 for a week, much better than the $206/week at Stafford, plus here we have strong 50 amp power, water and sewer. Not to mention a great view of the Klamath River through our really clean windows. We’ve seen birds, but apparently harbor seals hang out here, so we’re eager to see them too.

site 1

Lots of empty spaces now because it’s low season (they’re closed in the winter, open April 1st). After July 4th it’s crazy full. August is already booked. People come to fish salmon then. So I got busy washing those 2 weeks of clothes and making lasagna for supper. Such a joy, to have 50 amp power (strong to boot) and the sewer hookup! Tomorrow will be raining all day, so we’ll take it easy and plan our explorations.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving on – to Klamath, CA

  1. Debbie Ellis says:

    I just love reading about all of your travels. Got to see your youngest son not too long ago. He loves talking about everything you’ve seen. Keep writing. Deb

    • Patricia Elser says:

      I didn’t realize you’ve been reading the blog. Sure glad to hear you are enjoying it. Thanks for you encouragement.

Leave a Reply

