Moving on – to Port Orford, OR

5/3/16 (Tuesday) in Port Orford, OR (Camp Blanco-GS) 

Golden Bear RV: so handy to be right next to US 101, just a few yards from our site onto the highway. Amazingly, we were never disturbed by highway noise at night. I suspect because there is so little traffic and it wasn’t going 70 mph. I had been awakened by seals periodically and enjoyed watching them in the river even this morning. Very nice having that river view.

We took our time because our trip is just up US 101 and only 100 miles, leaving at 9:40. Those first 20 miles had steep up and downs spiced with many tight curves, so that was an adventure. Still lots of passing lanes, so that was nice. Things settled down near Crescent City and north of it. Through all of it we still enjoyed great scenery, with lots of old growth redwoods in that hilly part. Redwoods don’t like sea water, so they’ll be behind large sand dune or hills.  Can you see the RV parked in the right side of the top right image?  Enlarge if you’re curious.

 

Hello Oregon, a state with no sales taxes and where they pump your fuel. We fueled Miss Journey at Fred Meyer’s, in Brookings. Nice, roomy fuel station, right off US 101. Now John is happy that he has a full tank and I’m happy that we couldn’t fill it all the way in California, since, with our $.15 cents off discount (for buying over $100 worth of groceries last Saturday), our first 35 gallons cost just $2.209!

The GPS receiver with my Microsoft Streets and Trips program was struggling on our trip to Klamath, but I hoped it was from all the tall redwoods blocking its reception. On this trip, though, we had clear skies from Crescent City and it just kept “saying” that it wasn’t receiving any signals. It had plenty of clear skies and everything was connected fine. Unless the satellite was down (John’s GPS was working as was my Waze app), then I think my receiver has given up. I’ll see if I might find another on the Internet. I really like following our path on MSST.

We arrived just after noon, scraping the pavement of the highway as we tackled their driveway. Their driveway isn’t all that steep, but the highway crowns significantly. John went very slowly, so we found no damage. Because it’s their slow time (crammed June-August, then Oct-Dec), and because we’re staying a week (our best rate came by staying for a week) he let us choose our site.  We got a great one with lots of grass, picnic table and space. None of the others have this much space. That entrance and space between sites are the only bad things we see here: FHU (we have 30 amps, others have 50), great Verizon cell reception, TV reception, free WiFi, beautiful restrooms. The place is very neat and the management is just friendly and helpful as all get out! He even looked to see if anything seemed damaged from our approach.  On top of that, after we’d settled in, a young man gave us a “Welcome” gift of tea bags, salt water taffy, playing cards, popcorn and tourist info. That was a first! We can even walk to the church we go to, a restaurant and the Ray’s grocery store (even a laundromat is across the street). Access to the beach is not far. Nice.

or 4

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Oregon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

