Moving on – to South Beach, OR

5/10/16 (Tuesday) in South Beach, OR (Whaler’s Rest-TT)

On our way before 9. Thank heavens it’s a simple path up US 101 since my GPS isn’t working. I’m also grateful that the new GPS cable that I ordered from Amazon will be at Whaler’s Rest when we arrive. US 101 continued as a 2 lane unless passing or congested traffic warranted 4 lanes, with small towns (stoplights) sprinkled along the way. Less twisty and steep areas than south of Port Orford. Lots of tall tree corridors in the miles up some miles beyond Florence.

We saw a couple of fun items. The first was a hotrod that really got John’s heart beating fast. The next was a man riding a unicycle. It looked like he’d made it himself, with small packs at the front and back.

hot rod

There was construction on the bridge at Florence, then several miles after Florence we were right up against the ocean, on a cliff! Then the road was narrow, twisty and somewhat steep. Even a little tunnel (14′ 6” at it highest) just before Heceta Head Lighthouse. Before the tunnel is the Sea Lions attraction and parking spaces, so we stopped for a restroom break.

construction

After that, more miles along the ocean, on a cliff, with construction along the way to spice up our trip. Grand views of the ocean for the passenger. The driver gets to watch the curves and cliffs. I don’t have photos of this area because by now the very gutsy bugs had pretty well covered our windshield, thus I couldn’t focus beyond them. Fewer passing lanes at this point. THIS is the US 101 I remember! (Before retiring we only had the time to go as far as Washington and Oregon). Everything calmed down north of Waldport (twists and cliffs).

Whaler’s Rest negatives: The roads are dust/gravel, so you’re covered with dust when you drive. Some roads are full of deep pot holes. They’ve put gravel in the holes but it doesn’t seem to stay. There is very spotty Verizon cell phone service. Positives: sites have FHU (strong 50 amp power that’s free, strong water and sewer). We have satellite TV. They give you a sheet noting which sites have access to rooftop or moveable satellite dishes. They have cable. Most sites are a decent size, some large, many with concrete pads, some with decks. They have fire pits/stands and picnic tables at many sites. Many are surrounded by lush greenery and/or trees, so are private. Well kept up. Wonderful rhododendron bushes everywhere, lots of birdsong. Beach access (must cross Hwy 101), fun trails in the campground, indoor swimming pool and hot tub, a large cafe/galley. There is very good Internet (even 2 ethernet connections) at the south clubhouse. Many activities scheduled. Lots to see/do in the area as well.

We got here around noon and were settled by 1, so that was nice. You may remember how we used to have an adventure almost every travel day but that lately I don’t mention any. That’s because we haven’t until today. Yup, this time our dining room slide wouldn’t go out. That’s at least better than it not going in when we are getting ready to leave, because we can’t travel with a slide hanging out. So we have a fault reading for a major issue.

We love our site! Lots of sunshine (no drippy trees & good TV reception), FHU, close to pool, hot tub, south clubhouse (Internet), and beach access. We’re surrounded by rhododendrons and Oregon grape (private). I have lovely views of green and critters from every window. No wind. Few people drive by (creating dust). You know that saying, “you don’t miss the water ’till the well runs dry”? Well we enjoyed just great cell phone and Internet (free) service from inside our RV at Camp Blanco that we are currently going through withdrawals. No cell phone at our site, thus no hot spot for Internet. Especially with trying to get help regarding our slide issue. Ah, it’s always something.

After lunch we drove to Newport, getting groceries, then picked up our Amazon packages at the campground gate when we returned. Christmas! New GPS cable, Kindle Paperwhite eReader and watercolor paints (to prepare for classes I’ll teach here in June). Then straight to the hot tub!!! Clearly we just relaxed the rest of the evening.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Oregon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

