Newport, Cape Perpetua, Devil’s Churn, St. Perpetua Trail, CCC Rock Shelter, Cook’s Chasm Bridge

5/17/16 (Tuesday) in South Beach, OR (Whaler’s Rest-TT)

I left you in suspense about our slides last week. John got busy checking out the motors and manual. He found the reset button (behind the slide IN/OUT panel), reset it, then there was no fault reading. Next he called Winnebago. They said it was probably a minor wiring issue due to our travels, to go ahead and put the slide out. It came out fine. He’d told John that if it happened infrequently, then it was nothing to worry about, only if it became a frequent thing. Whew!!

Lots of cloudy, rainy days, so we largely took it easy. I spent time with my watercolors, we both read, walked the beach (best place for cell phone reception) and visited with other campers. A sweet Towhee landed near Miss Journey, singing his heart out and giving us a chance to take his picture.

towhee 2

Monday we strolled along Newport’s Bay Front, enjoying the soap opera of the seals’ musical chairs play, with at least 4 in the water, trying to get on a dock. The big concrete block is a piece of the Japanese dock that floated to this shore in June, 2012, sent by the tsunami of 2011.  We even saw it on the beach, when they were trying to decided what to do with it.  They cleaned 100 invasive species from it before cutting it into pieces.  I don’t know how to make a link, so you’d need to go to June 18, 2012 for my blog that day. 

 

After exploring  we scarfed down the most delicious pizza at the Rogue Pub House. We even got free beer samples!

Tuesday was such a sunny day we headed for Cape Perpetua, crossing a lovely bridge on our way.

bridge

We came upon a little building soon after the Cape Perpetua Visitor Center sign and turned into the parking lot. That wasn’t the Visitor Center but it was where you could walk a short trail to Devil’s Churn, where the water thumps into a channel and on stormy, windy days it whooshes up. Not so today. This is what we got in sunshine:

 

Further south on US 101 we came upon the actual Visitor Center, where we were encouraged to try St. Perpetua Trail. It’s 3 miles round trip and rather steep with 16 switchbacks. The reward was a fun trail with the best view of the Oregon Coast, so perfect for a sunny day. You could also drive there, but we needed the exercise and it sounded like fun. By bringing our lunch we provided ourselves a lovely break at the CCC built Rock Shelter, just beyond the top level view. Sights along the trail:

 

Remember our time at the Churn? We are looking down on that place here.  Included in these photos is the CCC Rock Shelter, where we had lunch.

 

On our way down the trail.

 

We stopped at the Visitor Center to enjoy some movies, then on to our last hike, The Captain Cook Trail. The wind had really whipped up by now, but we were near low tide. Thus no real sightings of the Sprouting Horn water plume. We did enjoy the lovely Cook’s Chasm Bridge, built there in 1931. Note the RV on it!

 

Well, that wind just whipped the last vestiges of energy for us, so we headed for home and the hot tub!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Newport, Cape Perpetua, Devil’s Churn, St. Perpetua Trail, CCC Rock Shelter, Cook’s Chasm Bridge

  1. Judy Andre says:

    So glad to hear you’re back painting. And what a lovely day you had.

Leave a Reply

