Moving on – to Seaside, OR (Seaside-TT)

5/24/16 (Tuesday) in Seaside, OR (Seaside-TT)

I will miss the lovely birds, their songs and all the flowering rhododendrons of Whaler’s Rest. I won’t miss the lack of cell phone reception and Internet (it was intermittent at the lodge).

We did have one warning as we got jacks up and slides in: the tire monitor showed low pressure on one of the car tires. Then I noticed while in the car for its pretowing routine that the dash showed low pressure on a tire as well. John said he’d seen that warning Sunday, so it’s been holding. He figured we’d be okay until we unhooked at Seaside. We planned to go to Costco for food anyway, so getting the tire filled will be added to our list.

Other than that all went smoothly. I was especially thrilled with how well our new Pharos 360 GPS was working, even when we were surrounded by a tree tunnel. This GPS goes with Microsoft Streets and Trips. We were on our way N on US 101 before 9. Now 101 is just 2 lane with more towns/stoplights thrown in for good measure. Beautiful scenery though.

ocean

We did have a small incident. An older Camry pulled in front of us in a town and traveled about 10 mph BELOW the speed limit. Took it literally, I guess. Frustrated John to no end. This lasted for about 10 miles (20 minutes), until we came to a passing lane where we could pass them. I asked John to try a positive attitude for dealing with it.

When we arrived at Seaside at noon and got checked in, it was easy to head to the North side, knowing that is where the 50 amp, big rig sites are. I love the lovely grassy forest, meadow and lake that you pass on the way there. We unhooked by the pickle ball courts, then walked up the row next to the clubhouse sure that we wouldn’t find anything open there because those are wider sites, with close access to all the activities/buildings and WiFi inside your rig. We found one! As we were happily setting up our neighbor said how amazing it was that the body hadn’t even had time to get cold. We gave him questioning looks. He explained that the prior occupant had JUST left this site. That’s when John noted that it was a good thing we got behind that Camry. It timed our arrival perfectly! (There was another rig that was right behind us checking in, then we saw it rolling along the row of sites. Surprisingly, our good friend Jack spotted me soon after that and gave a greeting. How exciting to know good friends are here and best of all, they are just 2 sites down! He was leaving the pickle ball court that he frequents every morning. Maybe John will get going with that sport.

SO we have a spacious gravel site (roads are flat asphalt), grass and small trees around, with FHU (strong 50 amps) and free WiFi in our RV, because we are across street from the lodge. There are lots of great activities happening here (nice Cafe), it’s just a mile (walkable) to the town of Seaside with many fun things to see/do. Our favorite is walking the boardwalk, the beach, people watching. You can even walk the boardwalk to Lewis and Clark’s salt water works! One year we saw a bull elk in the bushes between the boardwalk and the ocean. Then there are incredible parks/hikes and places to visit in the area. That’s why we’re staying here for 3 weeks.

Thus we had all sorts of energy to take off for shopping in Warrenton. That’s another plus since Costco, Fred Meyer, Home Depot and a couple car shops are all there in the same area. I almost forgot to mention; our CRV tire pressure needed attention at Costco too. We had fun spending lots of money on food and dreaming of buying a new Garmin GPS displayed there.

Once back home we took a fun walkabout. If you’re curious about what happened (lots of troubles with the Safari) when we were last at Seaside, just type “Seaside” in the search box at the top right.

5/25/16 (Wednesday) in Seaside, OR (Seaside-TT)

We have friends we haven’t seen for years that we knew in Leavenworth (Karen/Jim) that we wanted to visit in nearby Rockaway Beach. They invited us to stay overnight. Figuring this would give us all more time to visit we asked the Manager if it would be okay. He said that he could only grant that if it were a medical emergency, but that they have made it available if we called in “storage-on-site” and paid $20 per night. Considering the drive was about an hour of curving roads, we decided to go that route. Then John realized that if he bought the Garmin at Costco today it would be within this billing cycle, before Costco changed its credit card. I suggested that he go alone, letting me stay to catch up on my computer projects. He came home with more food (we’re starving, you know), a new Garmin GPS and 4 new tires! Yes, that bad tire was unrepairable. They gave us the 4 new tires under Warranty, so we only had to pay $77, not to mention that in Oregon there is no sales tax. John now has a new techie toy to play with too.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Oregon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

