Moving on – to South Beach, OR

6/12/16 (Sunday) in South Beach, OR (Whaler’s Rest-TT)

We’re leaving earlier than planned in order to travel on a dry day, not the predicted very rainy Tuesday ahead. Life is never dull. All our pull in slides and jacks procedures went just fine. John started the generator (time for it’s “exercise”) and I’d started the heat pumps (they need a “load” to work well).

Then as we were just on our way, I felt a drop of water on my head! What the heck? It couldn’t be the slide, that sure isn’t over my head. I looked up. Hmm drops of water on the heat vent above my head. More developed and dropped as time went by. All I could figure was that we’d had humidity built in Miss Journey Friday, with lots of rain as I was washing and drying clothes inside. Must have accumulated from that. Or possibly the water was inside the vent and then worked it’s way out as we jiggled down the road.

Lovely trip with more tight curves than I’d rather have, but I was treated to another rig in front that slow my “Mario Andretti” husband down. There were straighter sections as well. Wonderful ocean views. We stopped at Space Age Fuel in Lincoln City. They are quite spacious for us big rigs and had the best price in our path. Their driveway on the south side was dicey but John handled it like very well. We arrived around 12:30. As John got the car unhooked, I ran up to our favorite site #95. Dang, already taken. I found another nearby, so got back to the car and we drove to it. Unfortunately the trees blocked a satellite TV signal so John wanted another, #66. Dang, that one couldn’t get the TV signal either. Well, we decided to stay anyway, hoping that a better site with everything we want will open up.

It was such a beautiful sunny day I thought we should go down to the ocean, but I got tired and sleepy and ended up taking a 2 hour nap. Oops, supper time already! We did manage a walk around the campground to cap off our night.

6/13/16 UPDATE:

The next morning I saw a Wilson’s warbler (sparrow size, yellow, with gray wings and black top of his head) hanging out (actually landing on our windowsills several times) at our lovely wooded site. Even saw him eat a little yellow worm on a bush. Maybe this site isn’t so bad.  Well, a couple hours later we scooted over to another site that had promise of TV reception.  Lo and behold, we got 2 of the 3 satellite channels (good enough for us) and that sweet Wilson’s warbler came to visit us again.  He must see himself in our windows.  So I’m happy and so is John.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Oregon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving on – to South Beach, OR

  1. Kim says:

    Love to read your blog you make life so fun and interesting. Thinking of you Kim from Napa.

Leave a Reply

