Yellowstone National Park: Fun With Animals in the Lamar Valley

9/10/16 (Saturday) in West Yellowstone, MT ( Yellowstone Holiday RV Campground – $42/night, N side)

As I noted yesterday, we drove to Artist’s Point first thing this morning and took more photos. It’s a double edged sword to have digital photography now days: you can take hundreds of photos (easy) but you need to sift through them all to find the best (hard).

We stopped at a couple falls; Gibbon (before Artist’s Point) and Tower (after). They were nice, but not spectacular.

Then we went into the Lamar Valley to find animals we could photograph.

bison-7

Love these Aspen

pronghorn-1

Pronghorn

pronghorn-2

Pronghorn

pronghorn-3

Pronghorn

We saw this Bison in the Lamar Valley but I can’t figure how to get his photo with the others!

untitled

Bison

cool-rock

Cool rock feature along the way

Next we visited the Petrified Tree, standing all alone. Anatomically the trunk is indistinguishable from present day redwoods in California. This happened when a chain of volcanoes erupted here 50 million years ago. The rolling landslides of ash, water and sand buried forests. Before the trees could rot silica in the flow plugged living cells, creating “forests of stone.”

petrified-tree

Petrified Tree

We continued our travels to the North Entrance (Gardiner, MT) and got pictures of the Roosevelt Arch. It was great fun walking through the “man door” at the side – so refreshingly cool, just from the rock.

arch-1

Roosevelt Arch

arch-2

Roosevelt Arch, John entering it.

On to Mammoth Hot Springs. We explored the lower terrace, but we chose not to take the upper terrace drive. It was getting late (we wanted to avoid the animal/people congestion) and we were getting low on gas. As it turned out, we hit less of that congestion and had enough gas to fill up in West Yellowstone. Yay! Sort of crashed once we got home.

lower-terrace-1

Lower Terrace

lower-terrace-2

Lower Terrace

lower-terrace-3

Lower Terrace

lower-terrace-4

Lower Terrace

lower-terrace-5

Lower Terrace

lower-terrace-6

Lower Terrace

lower-terrace-7

Lower Terrace

Liberty Cap – a Hot Springs Cone – below

Upper Terrace (we peaked with our camera)

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Montana, National Parks (NPS), Wyoming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yellowstone National Park: Fun With Animals in the Lamar Valley

  1. Lamar Valley is the spot we saw our first Bison in Yellowstone last year. It was a great experience. 🙂 Have Fun!

Leave a Reply

