Moving on – to Cheyenne, WY

9/18/16 (Sunday) in Cheyenne, WY (Terry Bison Ranch Resort-PPA)

There are railroad tracks close to Lewis Park and they were running all day. Thankfully, we heard none during the night until 6:30. Unfortunately, mother nature decided it was time to throw her weight around-with lots of gusts of wind for much of the night. When we got up we checked our weather report. Strong winds (fire advisory) that get stronger (with gusts to 50 mph) during the day. The next days would be less windy. We could stay a day longer at Lewis Park than planned and not have to drive in the worst winds but after considering many factors we decided to move on today.

Grateful that our slide toppers (awnings) were not terribly affected by the wind, we were able to bring are slide in without incident. On the road before 8:30. That was quick considering that we weren’t going to leave until 10 or later because we only had 79 miles to travel. We went on I-25 S, the wind was blowing mostly from the west. Then they added cones for 9 miles, just for an extra challenge. To think we figured this would be our easy trip!

trip-2trip-3

We arrived by 9:45am. We apologized for being so early but they weren’t upset and our reserved site was ready for us. Yay! After getting settled in, I got my many loads of wash started, then used their free WiFi. John worked on various computer projects. Nice to have FHUs at last. It took until after supper for my loads to finish, with sheets to do tomorrow. We took a very short walk to the bathrooms and spent the rest of the evening watching TV. John got very frustrated because he couldn’t record shows like normal.

UPDATE: I forgot to share info about this campground. When you approach (exit 2 off of I-25), you’ll go on a frontage road for 3 miles. As you near the campground you may see a small herd of bison (they own more – 2500), then 6 camels. They also have horses, giving horse trail rides on their property as well as a train tour near the bison. You’ll see an iron work arch (1st entrance), but use the rock arch (2nd entrance) marked “RV”. Follow the fence, turning right, in front of the fake town. You’ll see all the RV’s parked before you. They are parked like sardines with open skies so there is little real “ambiance”. There is 4g Verizon service but the open skies are deceptive. As noted below, the TV signal is weak. Also they have free WiFi but that is really weak. They have clean restrooms and laundry behind the registration/gift shop, open 24 hrs. They have FHUs, good 50 amp power.  It’s expensive for what you get, I think: $42/night+tax.  Only 1 night on PPA discount allowed. Warning: If you choose the southern frontage road (left out of campground), it turns to a gravel road for about 7 miles.  

6/19/16 (Monday) Day to Relax

I washed those sheets and did light housecleaning. I did a special cleaning of Miss Journey’s headlights. Then, using a Chicken Taco Mix that our son Justin had shared with us, I cooked in our Instant Pot, using it as a slow cooker. It did a fine job. After lunch we called friends and relatives to connect. We solved a couple problems: John talked to a “DISH” technician who was helping our next door “neighbor”. He found out that this area seems to have a weak signal, plus our satellite may not have locked on well yesterday due to all the wind. Also, we were only getting SD signals some of the time. Resetting would bring up the HD channels. His last suggestion was to check that all our connections were tight after all our travels since we left Spokane. Then John went to get DEF (for our RV) at the nearby Flying J. I managed to pull down an MCD shade that had eluded all our efforts to shake it loose since we were in Spokane. Yay! Too quiet of a day to make a separate posting.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Wyoming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

