Catching Our Breath

9/24/16 (Saturday) in Monument, CO (Colorado Heights Resort-ROD)

I pretty much spent the day creating and posting to the blog. This was my first chance to really spend the time. Meanwhile, John read. We watched a fun movie at night: “Inside Out”.

9/25/16 (Sunday)

Church in the morning, then John watched golf and the Seahawks while I caught up on my blog reading.

9/26/16 (Monday)

I cleaned house and made an enchilada casserole while John accomplished a couple projects himself: wiring the little “M Box” (we call it Kodi), so that we can watch movies on our TV that Justin copied onto a hard drive. He also checked and tightened the connections for our TV satellite set up. It’s been having issues recording some shows on this trip. In the afternoon we read and even slipped in small naps. It was a lovely sunny day, sweet for a campground walk.

9/27/16 (Tuesday)

This was the day we had scheduled for repair of the rock chip we got several days ago. The “fun” part is that the serviceman could come anytime between 7:30am and 1pm. We watched some of our taped shows until he arrived after 10. He did a great job (Safelite) and was very helpful answering our questions, explaining how it all worked. He attaches a gizmo that vacuums all the air out of the crack/chip, then it pumps in the resin. This pump isn’t really strong (I imagine so as not to create a greater crack), so in a while the resin travels via capillary action. If all the empty spaces get filled with resin then when it’s done you can press on the crack. If it cracks more than the resin didn’t get to the very ends, if it doesn’t then it’s sealed forever. Thus he showed us that a previous rock chip we thought wasn’t properly done was actually just fine.

When a crack is really long it’s too far for the capillary action to work, so that’s when he has to come back and send in resin from another place. We also learned that once your glass has been chipped it’s forever scarred. Sometimes the resin hides some of that but later you may notice some cracking. That’s because in time the resin may change. He also noted in the one he fixed for us that one small spot was showing, like when a diamond is cut each facet reflects the light. He also said that now that he’d finished with his repair, we could wash the windshield, drive anywhere…no need to be extra careful. Thus we enjoyed some great entertainment for the morning.

This afternoon we treated ourselves to shopping…for groceries at King Soopers (Kroger store) and Costco. We’ve only seen these King Soopers in Colorado and really enjoy them because they are just like our Fred Meyers in Spokane except that these only have the grocery part. Once home we relaxed with books and TV.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Colorado and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

