Moving on – to Trinidad, CO (Walmart)

10/1/16 (Saturday) in Trinidad, CO (Walmart)

Not only did we consider how we’d get safely out of our campground but we also considered how soon to leave. On the one hand we didn’t want to spend our day sitting in a WalMart parking lot, with the limitations of dry camping and our slides in. On the other hand, we learned of some places we could explore while there. With that knowledge we decided to leave earlier, not later, actually getting on our way by 8:35. The “IN” lane was open so John smoothly negotiated that steep drop and left turn. Once we were near Colorado Springs I saw a sign noting the traffic on I-25 would be very heavy due to the Air Force Academy Football game at 1:30. Whew! We could have been in that mess. Other than some construction, it was nice to just hop onto I-25S all the way to the Walmart.

We drove through Colorado prairie.

trip-1

We arrived by 11:30 and parked at the farthest end from the front doors of Walmart, next to the freeway. This was our first time staying overnight at a Walmart. I thought we could park behind the building, but there was only a fire lane there. There were a couple other RVs there when we came, but by 10pm there were plenty more, maybe 10. To be respectful of Walmart we didn’t put down our jacks or put out our slides (except at night we put out the closet slide so I could have my side of the bed available). Also we wanted to patronize Walmart, so we bought our lunch at the deli and purchased a replacement microwave cover, for the one John melted previously. We tried to buy the RV windshield wiper blades but they didn’t fit. It just so happened that there was a O’Reilly’s in walking distance so we tried their wiper blades. Also no go. Still, it was SO handy to walk to a store, purchase the blades, try them out, return them and repeat the process at another store without driving anywhere! I was tired and noted to John that maybe it wasn’t worth driving an hour to the National Monument, then another hour back, when he’d just driven the rig 3 hours and will be driving it again for 4 hours tomorrow. He didn’t argue. So I took a nap while he worked on the coolant and wiper blades. We both spent the afternoon reading. Hard to believe when we’d done a lot of relaxing at Colorado Heights, but it really did feel good. Do you wonder where we’re getting all the books? John brought a goodly number of his Louis L’Amour collection from home and I have my Kindle Paperwhite. With it I can get library books from my local library as well as the Prime monthly free book to borrow. There are also free books I can “buy”.

We decided it would be smart to wait for supper, so we could combine our generator running time with fixing supper and get it late enough to have our batteries in the best shape to last though the night. So we took a “campground” walk around Walmart, then started the generator and supper at 6:30. We played a couple games of “13”, then hit the sack at 10. Believe it or not, even though we were parked right next to that freeway, the traffic was light enough and apparently quiet enough that it didn’t disturb our sleep. Yay!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Colorado. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

