Quiet Days

9/29/16 (Thursday) in Monument, CO (Colorado Heights Resort-ROD)

Did the wash and worked on the computer most of the day. Their WiFi is an absolute struggle. We understand that it goes through their phone line and drops frequently. No kidding. It was a gorgeous fall day. Really wish we could have gone out and enjoyed it. I know it was my choice to get the computer work done, but after this we won’t have any free WiFi, so need to take advantage while we can.

9/30/16 (Friday) in Monument, CO (Colorado Heights Resort-ROD)

As we watched our neighbor pull out of his site, we saw another big class A rig on its way out. I wanted to see how they got out of the steep exit hill. Not only did they make it (VERY SLOWLY), but they managed to make a left turn onto the more than 90 degree road. I was impressed. Earlier we’d learned that if no one was in the “IN” lane, then management was okay with us using it to leave and turn left. If fact they recommended it and to turn right if someone was in that “IN” lane. Meanwhile I noticed that traffic on I-25 was really backed up. I remembered that the news had mentioned an accident at Monument Hill (where this is) an hour ago. As I was enjoying the scene John arrived. Then he proceeded to go further along our frontage road (to the left), then walked on top of the concrete block retaining wall. Naturally, I followed. That was fun, watching the police and traffic on both sides manage the closure to one lane of the northbound traffic. The southbound traffic seemed to slow because of the police cars on that side. We also saw a very crunched car. John said it was a rollover. After that excitement we walked back to Miss Journey. Later John noticed a rig coming in with a headlight out, so we (yes, I wanted to visit if I could) went looking for it, to tell them. When we spotted the rig and headed there, I greeted some other campers and got to talking with them while John talked to the new people. Then we came back home for more reading and TV, with most of the morning necessary for me to organize all the photos I took this month. In the afternoon I tried to back up my computer files onto my external hard drive, but it struggled and couldn’t back up 6 files. Sheesh. So I emailed the Passport maker for help. Later I did make a batch of black bean soup in our Instant Pot (electric pressure cooker). It’s funny how they say it only takes 7 minutes. Well, yes, but first it needs to build up steam (1 hr), then 7 minutes under pressure, then another hour for the steam pressure to lessen naturally. So, it actually takes 2 hours and 7 minutes! Ah, but it tastes and looks like it’s cooked for 8 hours. Not to mention the time I took soaking the dry beans before today. Wish I’d gone walking in the afternoon, but I kept expecting it to rain. Right, such an excuse! It finally rained from 6:20pm to 7:20pm. Then we had a quiet night, although I seemed to be awake a lot. So it goes.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Colorado and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

