Yoga, Music and New Friends

10/14/16 (Friday) in Mesa, AZ (Val Vista Villages)

What a joy to actually be here knowing we aren’t moving for 80 days. I really like that. We’ll see how I feel at the end of our time here. I joined a yoga class ($10/class or you can pay for 8 or 16 and get a discount). Nice. They have free WiFi, best reception at the Community Center or in the Laundry room, though. Dang! So I worked on the blog in the morning. John similarly was on the Internet, then tackled our LED light over the sink issue. He found that it was the light itself, not the fixture holding it that was the problem, so we’ll need to get another one.

It’s terribly hot – in the 90’s, so we’re really using the electricity we’ll need to pay for. I imagine that’s part of why so few people are actually here now. The yoga teacher (4 in today’s class) said that there will be 15 in the class in November, and 30 in it during February, the most popular month.

After Yoga I worked on the blog, then we had lunch.

I needed new slippers (John had lost one of my old ones when we moved out of LaQuinta), so we found a Walmart and purchased them, along with a few grocery items. I couldn’t resist a long nap after that. I hadn’t slept well the last several days-that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

With all this heat, we just felt like cold things for supper: a smoothie for me and cold beans and raw potato for John.

At 6:30 we walked over the courtyard to enjoy the band playing. In time another couple joined us and we had the best of times getting to know one another: Ron/Linda from North Dakota. They were so excited because they’d just purchased one of the park model homes here. They’ve been coming here for the last 7 years, so they knew what they wanted. When the music ended we walked across the street to McDonald’s for ice cream cones. Yum ending to a lovely, warm night. There was even a full moon to walk home to.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Arizona. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

