THE WEEK IN A NUTSHELL

Mesa Marketplace

10/15/16 (Saturday) in Mesa, AZ (Val Vista Villages)

Our friends told us about the Mesa Marketplace, how it was similar to the Arizona Marketplace, so we wanted to check it out, see if they had LED lights to replace the broken one. Because of the heat, we headed there (about 12 miles away) right after breakfast. Voila! They had the LED light we needed, plus John found the phone cases he’d been looking for and I found card holder that I’d been looking for. Back home to wash the sheets and get some crock pot cooked (using the Instant Pot) Cranberry Pork Roast for dinner. After that we went to the laundry to get on the WiFi. Yup, the laundry. It’s also super cold there!

Moonlight

10/16/16 (Sunday)

After church we stopped at CVS to find out about their flu shots. In just moments we both got ours! Boy were they efficient. Then we had lunch, enjoyed taped TV shows, I napped, then more TV and supper. This night the moon was not only at it fullest, it was really close to Earth, so we capped our day off with a lovely walk around Val Vista in the moonlight. November’s full moon will be the closest to the earth until 2038, so we can’t miss that!

Exercises and Neighbors

10/17/16 (Monday)

We took another walk to the other end of Val Vista for a photo of the entrance. When we got home I took another of our site, for good measure. I’d like to note some differences between this place and our Palm Springs-TT campground: here we have asphalt, gravel and very little wind, whereas there we have sand, goat’s heads (terrible stickery plant bits) and wind. This place is much larger, neater, with many more, newer, facilities. It also costs, of course. Most activities are free. They have lots of blooming flowers. I’ve never seen these cacti blooms! They have birds that look sort of like thrashers that congregate in 2 trees by our pool and just jabber like crazy for a few hours in the evening. Need to find out what kind they are.

First thing, while it was somewhat cool, I did some light housecleaning. Later I went to the 10am water aerobics class listed on the schedule, except there was no instructor. Thank goodness a couple other gals showed up (Cathy and Cindy). They’d brought instruction reminders with them, so we made up our own class and had lots of fun doing it. Apparently many of the instructors dribble in at the end of October. Cathy/Cindy said they planned to come at 9 Tuesday, because that’s the class they usually attended, so I agreed. Starting earlier sounded better anyway. Meanwhile John swam several laps in a different pool (there are 4 here-3 outdoors and 1 indoor). Their Salon was having a grand opening, so we came to check it out. Wow, they didn’t provide a few nibbles, it was a meal – including sandwiches and beer and wine. So even though it was really hot (every day has been in the 90’s), it was a lot of fun. After that swell party, we came home. I napped while John watched TV, then we both watched more TV until supper. Then, naturally, we watched “Dancing With The Stars.”

Next Door Neighbors

10/18/16 (Tuesday)

9 am water aerobics with friends. Several more ladies showed up (Sue, Kay and Cindy). This time THEY led the instructions (Sue, actually), saying they loved the regular 9 am class and that “Bob”, the teacher should be showing up by November. They also said there was a fitness class in the same building as the yoga at 10:30, so we would have time to get home and change for that class. So I went there only to find out that it had started at 10. I guess last year it had started at 10:30 (it was not on this October schedule at all), but now the teacher was doing it at 10:30. I did get about 5 minutes of it! As I was coming back home from that almost class, I noticed our neighbor across the street vacuuming his roof, or so it seemed. Apparently park model homes have a small, covered gutter that fills with mud which becomes clumped dirt in time, so that’s what he was cleaning out. That began a lively conversation, so pretty soon I got John to join us and Jim’s wife Cindy did as well. They’re Canadians from Manitoba. They love golf and pickleball, so that sounds like fun times for John. After lunch we went to Costco for groceries, then continued on a search for pool noodles. Wouldn’t you know, we’d given our last ones to the grandkids this past summer, since we didn’t seem to use them the 4 years we’d been in our RV. Well, they use them in the water aerobics classes AND everyone in the pool where John was hanging out also used them. We searched at Walmart, the 99 cents. store. We tried Fry’s and the Dollar Tree. No luck. We came home, out of the 90+ heat for TV, then supper, then at 5 when to enjoy “Sam and the Band”. Guess what? He’s from Spokane!!! We had a wonderful time listening to his cowboy songs.

Yoga and Massage Therapy

10/19/16 (Wednesday)

Today I had to get out the checkbook. The first yoga class was free, but then they cost, so I took the 16 class package for $100. They are Wednesdays and Fridays, so this should pretty much last until we leave January 1st. Then I treated myself to a Massage Therapy session ($35 for ½ hour). I needed it for my neck but I could tell my right arm sure had some sore muscles. John got his swim time in while I was getting my body stretched. We did venture out to Target, hoping to find those elusive “pool noodles”.  Yes!! they had them.  It seems that Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas have taken up shelf space, thus the noodles are “yesterday’s news”.  Hard to believe when this place is SO hot all the time now.  Once more we spent the hot afternoon relaxing in Miss Journey, staying out of the heat.

Haircut and Dancing

10/20/16 (Thursday)

Donuts and Coffee, with Resort information. Mmm more free goodies, plus we learned a lot about the sales (John’s been looking at their park models) and activities (The Association (band) will be here even). Things really pick up in November, then the place is really hopping from January until March when the prices are much steeper to rent a spot here.

Fitness class for me with pool laps for John. We got numerous chores handled today: the laundry, grocery shopping and a haircut for me. We signed up for a few get togethers (Octoberfest, Thanksgiving, and Potato Bar). After a restful afternoon we went to another fun music activity with Harry Mathews where we met Bill and Jan, who said he’s one of their favorites. The crazy thing is they happen to be in an RV parked next to Norma/Mike who are next to Linda and Ron, the 4 people we played dominoes with on Friday! Aren’t coincidences amazing? We had a great time.

Another Quiet Day in the Heat

10/21/16 (Friday)

My day for yoga while John swam his pool laps. While it was still relatively cool (in the 70’s) we went shopping for a new water pressure regulator. We didn’t find what we wanted at Camping World, but we did find the wipers we’ve been needing. Next door, at a different RV place, we had excellent help and got a good regulator for a great price. Back at home it was time for lunch, then reading and a nap. We talked a bit with our son, then supper and TV for the night.

I may continue sharing our weekly activities, to give a sense of our days, but then it may become sort of repetitious and thus not so interesting for whoever may be reading this….

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Arizona. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE WEEK IN A NUTSHELL

  1. I enjoyed the post. Your staying active and happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

