3rd WEEK IN A NUTSHELL

Pool Time, Morning and Afternoon

10/29/16 (Saturday) in Mesa, AZ (Val Vista Villages)

This time while I worked on the blog, John not only skipped the coffee/donuts opportunity, he swam his laps again!! Yay!! We actually now use an area off the pool that’s shaded for our Internet activities, since it’s close enough to the WiFi to work and it’s a decent temperature in the morning, in the shade. So we finished our morning on the Internet.

For our afternoon we watched the movie “Steve Jobs”. We sure enjoyed it. After supper we swam in the pool and hot tub, getting to meet Mark and Shirley. Mark enticed John into signing up for weekly golf. We finished off our night with our card game “13”.

Cards Morning and Afternoon

10/30/16 (Sunday)

We enjoyed our traditional Sunday pancake breakfast then attended church. We stopped at CVS to see if they had an A1C kit that wouldn’t expire. They didn’t, but they suggested we try a couple nearby CVS stores. Bingo!! We found the kit John needed. Since we were out we decided to go on to the Mesa Marketplace for playing cards, to replace the “13” cards I’d made wet by putting them in a cloth grocery bag where I’d put wet aqua shoes and a water bottle with condensation. They’d dried wrinkly, so we found some “small face” playing cards for cheap-$1/pack. On to Costco since it was near and John needed more maple syrup.

Our lunch was spaghetti with clam sauce, then we walked to the Val Vista Card Room. John wanted to find out how a Sunday group played “65” there. On the way we saw Bill/Jan and invited them to join us for a game in the Poker room. John found out that they have a few different rules for “65” and that each contributes 65 cents at the beginning of the game, hence that name. We had a fun time teaching Bill/Jan how to play “13”. Unfortunately, those “small face” cards were shorter on the long side than normal playing cards and it affected shuffling. Sometimes frugal doesn’t work out so well.

I made a simple fruit salad for my supper: 1 apple cut up and a handful of raisins. I had a couple slices of cheddar cheese for protein. Yum and SO easy on a hot day. We finished our evening with TV shows and our books.

Happy Halloween

10/31/16 (Monday)

A busy morning: Core/Balance class, light housecleaning, then a swim with John in the pool. The rest of the day I spent with my monthly organization of photos and planning our next path to Yuma/Winterhaven. Leftover spaghetti for dinner was still very good, the we just hunkered in Miss Journey with our TV shows and books. There was a Halloween dance that night but we were spoiled – many other nights we could listen to good bands without paying anything so we chose not to go.

Another Hot Day

11/1/16 (Tuesday)

Another busy morning (it’s cool enough): I cut John’s hair, dashed off to Water Aerobics, then returned for Functional Fitness class, while John went swimming his laps. We grocery shopped for our fresh ingredients for tomorrow’s meal: marinated Chili Garlic Sauce (sirachi) chicken and veggies. When we got home I chopped onions, mushrooms and red peppers as well as thawed our chicken breasts. Got them marinating in separate bags. We had our leftover spaghetti, then I got brown rice cooking in our Instant Pot. Again, we spent the rest of our day and night with books and TV. Guess our mornings wear us out, or else that heat is.

Hank Works On My Computer-the Saga Continues

11/2/16 (Wednesday)

Classes again: Core/Balance and Yoga, then off to the Computer Club to see if Hank (the local expert) can fix my computer issues. He tried until lunch time, his time to leave. I’m to bring my computer to him next Wednesday. At least it still works while all these efforts are going on. It also makes me think I may need to buy a new one. People there were saying that 5 years for a Windows computer is a common time for them to “go bad”.

Today John grilled (in the hot sun) our Sirachi Chicken/Veggies. Such a fabulous job-they were cooked to perfection and SO moist. Settled on rice, it all just melted in my mouth, filled with rich flavors.

For an hour in the evening (5-6) we found seats in the Fiesta courtyard to listen to the latest music, this time by a guitar player, Doug Bailey.

After supper, as we were enjoying our books, big wind gusts came up. We’d been leaving our patio and door awnings out constantly for most of these weeks here because there just hasn’t been any wind. Got complacent. This gust was a wake up call, especially with night already on us, so we brought in those awnings and the little headlight covers I put on the headlamps. Later that evening it stormed: thunder, lightening, huge wind and lots of rain. SO grateful we took that hint to pull in those awnings!

Rain

11/3/16 (Thursday)

We didn’t sleep all that well, with the rain and wind noises, not to mention the sound of things hitting other things. I skipped Water Aerobics (there was still intermittent heavy rain and wind), but did do my Functional Fitness class. Having replaced our kitchen table shelving covers with new ones on the table, I also managed to recycle them to a couple shelves in the bedroom.

The rain was a great excuse for a lazy day of laundry, reading and leftover Sirachi Chicken.

For some afternoon exercise we walked to Val Vista to pay our utilities bill, then had a great time visiting with our Canadian neighbors, Cyndy and Jim. We all saw very black clouds headed our way so we parted. Those clouds really let loose, so we were very glad to have collected ourselves into our coach, to watch TV and read.

Leak Above Sink, Then Gorgeous Sunny Day

11/4/16 (Friday)

Well, with that rain came a leak. Dang! Our Miss Journey has been so relatively repair free…. I was getting breakfast ready when I noticed something moving over the sink. Later John saw it too, then saw water. Sure enough the cabinet over our sink was dripping, with water pooled in both of its shelves. John checked the slide – the top was covered with water. Usually the topper (awning) would keep water from collecting there, but this time it was too much, coupled with lots of wind. This is our full wall slide, so it’s too long for John to reach much with a broom/mop. So I sopped up water most of the day at the cabinet.

Life goes on, so I went to my Core/Balance and Yoga classes. John left soon after for 18 holes of golf with the Val Vista group, so I had much of the day to myself. I went to see if the Open Art Studio was happening. Nope, nobody there. Since it was next door to the Computer Club I stepped in to ask some questions. Although I was halted by “Exit Only” signs. I walked all around the building. Then I opened the computer lab door to ask how I get into the Computer Club. He came out to show me – there was a door clearly marked “Computer Club” between the 2 “Exit Only” signed doors. Sheesh! Once in I got talking to a volunteer who shared his experiences with Apple products (very enthusiastic). I may have to make a decision there. He also noted that this week Costco has a sale on Adobe Photoshop Elements, that this may be a good time to update my very old Elements 5.0 version.

My lunch was a cut up orange instead of apple, still delicious and easy.

I’ve been getting lots of Lee Child (Jack Reacher) books from the library (Kindle), so I’m really enjoying them. Started “The Hard Way” a couple days ago.

Since the band was now playing at the Val Vista courtyard and this was a Manager’s Special (beer or wine for 25 cents a drink) I started down early. On the way I saw a gentleman playing his guitar. So beautiful. I commented. Pretty soon we were talking about the Beatles, reading music and the like. He’s Doug Bailey, the man who was playing the last time we enjoyed the music in the courtyard. Just down our road! I continued to Val Vista where I took a photo of the bikes parked here. Now golf carts certainly exist but the preferred vehicle for transit within the park seems to be bikes. All the more proof of how active this group is. I’ll include a photo of some of the daily activities for another clue.

When I arrived it naturally was crowded, all chairs taken, but I figured that and was just going to get my glass of wine, enjoy, then leave. Well, after getting my wine I noticed Jim/Cyndy and they invited me to their table. In a while John found us and joined the gang. Great music, nice wine. John was really tired and hungry though, so we left when I’d finished my wine. We had our normal Fish Friday meal, then relaxed with TV and reading.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Arizona. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 3rd WEEK IN A NUTSHELL

  1. Hayden Gray says:

    Glad that y’all are having such a great time. We love to stay there, too, when we are in the Mesa area. We were at Timothy Lake South over the summer and thought of our nice visit time with y’all there a while back. Always enjoy your writings. Hope we meet up again down the road somewhere.

Leave a Reply

