Moving on – to Palm Desert, CA

1/10/17 in Palm Desert, CA (Palm Springs-TT)

Two days after we’d arrived at Pilot Knob we went to our dentist in Algodones, Mexico. This time the remodeling was completed. Everything looked very nice, with a lovely reception/waiting area out front. The 4 dentists had their own areas, separated by partial walls. We got our Xrays (digital-less Xrays and immediately visible in the computer in front of you) and teeth cleaned with ultrasonic sound waves (screechy, but faster than the pic). That cost $35 for each of us. Then I had a filling that was coming out. My dentist in Spokane and noted it. So my dentist in Mexico took care of it for $65. I’m amazed at their technology and efficiency!

We visited the “Peanut Patch” where they have a low key tour, explaining peanuts and their origins. Spanish peanuts are used for candy like peanut brittle and Snickers, Runner peanuts are mostly used in peanut butter and Virginia peanuts are the bigger, better nuts, so often sold as peanuts. This place used to grow their own but after a white fly infestation, it just wasn’t economically feasible, so they get their raw peanuts from TX, OK and AL, then process them. We got free samples of peanuts roasted in the shell, out of the shell, fresh made peanut butter, peanut brittle and even their fudge. Yum!! We got a bit carried away buying their goodies, but peanuts are SO healthy!

One day I played desert (on hard packed sand instead of grass) Bocce Ball, while John preferred to watch. I had a great time (fun people) and even did pretty well. I’m ready for my next Bocce Ball opportunity!

On travel day, as we were getting lined up to hook up our car, a lady walking by noted that we had our antennas up. I said he always wants it up until the last moment. She said they all do! John had said the local antenna was down, but I informed him that it was up as well, so they both got put down. We left by 7:30 California time. Road work on I-8W put us on a detour, using a frontage road for about 10 miles, with a few mile break and then another 10 mile detour of 2 lane road Never a dull moment. Our path to Palm Desert was I-8W to SR 111 (exit 118B), then we veered left of the Salton Sea (SR78, SR 86) to merge onto I-10W. SR 111 was sprinkled with plenty of stop lights but SR 86 was a nice 4 lane road without those pesky stop lights. Lots of desert views, without the saguaro cacti, although there were also the greens of the Imperial Valley grown along the way as well. We arrived by 10:30-3 hrs.

Palm Springs campground was packed! We finally found a good site, although it was iffy at first as to whether our DISH on the rooftop would be able to connect with their satellites in the sky. After moving the rig a foot or so, we got it to work!! We didn’t need to scout the place, so I took a nap while John went to visit with friends Bill and Susan, but Susan was gone to water aerobics. After he returned another couple we really like stopped by: Jack and Jackie. We visited, then walked and visited until it was time to get our suppers. We all wanted to go to the Karaoke sing at 7. Jack likes to do it and said he’d let me sing with him. I did (Sixteen Candles), but I didn’t know that song as well as I’d thought. He said he has a karaoke machine he uses to practice and he’d let me use his. So THAT’S how they get good before taking the mic before a crowd. There were some excellent singers there, so we had a wonderful time.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving on – to Palm Desert, CA

  1. Kevin and I visited the peanut patch. The peanuts were great. I’m surprised you found a spot with satellite reception at Palm Springs. Great Job! Have Fun!

Leave a Reply

