Two Weeks of the Good Life

1/23/17 in Palm Desert, CA (Palm Springs-TT)

I have to admit that I’ve just not felt like posting to the blog while we’ve been here. To some extent it’s probably due to all the simple things we’ve been enjoying that aren’t special enough to warrant sharing. For example: we’ve enjoyed some hot tub time and lots of reading (I’m reading a library book that includes 4 books by Christoper Paoilini: Eregon, Eldest, Brisingre and Inheritance). These are large books and I’ve been struggling to get them read before my 21 days are up. John, naturally is reading his Louis L’Amour books, many new ones that he bought at the Mesa and Arizona Marketplaces.

I discovered Karaoke the Tuesday we arrived here. Well, I gave it a try with our friend Jack (O’Neal) of Jack/Jackie, who was singing with me. He recommended I get a Karaoke machine and practice at home, to get confidence. So I just may do that.

As at Mesa, I’ve had the fun of exercise classes: Walking and Zumba Gold as well as line dancing, 5 of the 7 days a week even. That’s been great fun. John went golfing once although he didn’t do so well the last 9 holes. The next day he experienced nerve pain in his hip. That’s when we hit the hot tub! After several days of discomfort (especially at night), it went away. Whew!

On John’s birthday (Jan 12th) we spent the morning at Sunnylands with Bonnie and Gene (a couple we’d met in Hawaii several years ago). I didn’t take photos because we’d been there before (posted on Feb. 21, 2016-you can look it up in the Archives box on the right) when it was sunny. We got a neat educational tour of their sculptural gardens this time. That afternoon we checked on the FMCA RV Rally in Indio where we enjoyed the food and friendship of our Northwest Area FMCA group and our local chapter, Panhandle Gems. We celebrated John’s birthday the next day with hamburgers at Red Robin. That night the campground offered a free movie “Miracles From Heaven”, a true story. Lovely. Then we just HAD to watch the next movie they showed on the following day, Saturday: “Sully”. THAT was a fabulous movie! Good times!

We’ve had fun visiting with friends, including a potluck with the Lewis & Clark group. I even met a couple from Spokane at a line dancing class, Brenda and Jack (Powell)! That’s also when I realized that Jack sings a Karaoke, doing a fabulous job! They’ll be in Spokane roughly when we are so we’re excited to continue sharing when we’re there. Since we had a Fandango Movie gift card, we spent it for 2 more movies (seen on Thursday and Friday): “Rogue One: Star Wars” then “Hidden Figures”. Both were excellent. We’d planned to hike at Borrega Sate Park but that day proved to be very cold and windy so I suggested we leave it for another time and John happily agreed.

One couple Marilyn and Marilyn shared their GPS recommendation with me for replacing Microsoft Streets and Trips: Sygic. This is a free app that lets you download the maps so that when you plan your trip and later watch your GPS arrow follow that path you dictated, you are not using data from your cell phone or the Internet. It’s an adjustment, but it seemed to work pretty well when we used it for our trip to church on Sunday.

There’s been a lot of rain and cool weather during our stay here, so I’ll use that as another excuse for our not exploring the area more. Presently we’re a bit concerned that there could be snow in the hills we’ll traverse on our way to Wilderness Lake.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

