Moving on – to Lytle Creek, CA – on VALENTINE’S DAY!

2/14/17 Tuesday in Lytle Creek, CA (Mountain Lakes-ROD)

Yesterday John and I climbed to the roof of Miss Journey and applied sealing tape to our awning hole. It had grown from a pinhole to ½ inch diameter in just a week. John also decided to get it replaced, so I called a shop in Palm Springs, making an appointment for when we arrive there. Jack/Jackie also stopped before dinner to say good by, then we played cards with Wendle/Loyce and they stayed awhile at our rig to say good by. This morning Darrel came to say good by. So lovely to enjoy time with our friends, yet hard to be leaving them.

WE had a small blip of excitement at the very beginning of our travel: after having to back the rig up with our tow car attached to get lined up for propane, he couldn’t get the engine into gear. Shortly, he realized that he’d recently turned on the generator (to give it “exercise”) and THOUGHT that he’d turned on the engine. SO he turned on the engine and all was just fine!

Because this was another short trip (60 miles), we left by 10 (arrived by 11:20). It was a pretty simple route as well: I-215N to I-15S, then exit 119 onto Sierra/Lytle Creek Rd. The last is a mountain road; curvy, uphill, 2 lane without shoulders and rocks hugging that edge. Not terribly steep and the curves were manageable, plus it was just 7 miles long, so it wasn’t so bad. Warning, though, your GPS may say you’ve arrived before you actually have. They have good signage leading up to the turn on the right (1600 feet ahead, 500 feet ahead), so we were grateful for that.

We love this campground. Lots of trees (we did find a site with a clear view of the TV satellites), lakes and critters. Geese welcomed us upon arrival, as well as a Great Blue Heron (white) at a lake. The next morning, at our site, we were visited by an Acorn Woodpecker, a couple Stellar’s Jays, and several Dark Eyed Juncos. FHU sites, the majority with 30 amps power, good Verizon coverage and FREE WI FI throughout the park! Not really strong, but good enough to work. Not lots of long, level sites for us big rigs, though there is a row (700’s) made for them. Beautiful bathrooms (comfort stations) and showers. Beautiful, bright, clear pools and hot tubs.

lake

After enjoying our lunch we took advantage of their free WiFi, started our “Instant Pot” beef roast cooking, then walked around exploring the park. After our delicious pot roast dinner We celebrated Valentine’s Day by nibbling on chocolate we’d won at the Bingo games at Wilderness Lakes, then we slipped into their crystal clear, perfectly hot, hot tub. Mmmmm. So nice with the star lit sky above.

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving on – to Lytle Creek, CA – on VALENTINE’S DAY!

  1. Janet and Roger says:

    How do you like that instant pot. I know a lot have them. planning ahead for the future

    • Patricia Elser says:

      What I love the most about our Instant Pot is it’s versatility and the lightweight inner pot that’s easy to clean. Regarding versatility, I use mine as a rice cooker, slow cooker, soup maker, steamer (hard boiled eggs-16 at one time!) and pressure cooker. The hard part is finding recipes for your preferences. I’ve found, personally, that pasta is better cooked with my “Fasta Pasta” container than in this Instant Pot. You have to use the exactly correct amount of water ratio to pasta. In my first recipe the pasta was mushy, in my next it was burnt. I couldn’t believe something could burn in a pressure cooker. Now I know. It’s versatility allows me to not bring the rice cooker, and slow cooker in the RV. You may think it’s instant, but realize that when you are using the pressure cooking feature it takes 10 minutes to reach pressure, then the cooking time, then some recipes require “Natural Release”, when the steam is allowed to escape naturally, rather than all of a sudden. Natural Release can take 20 or more minutes…..So a 6 minutes recipe for soup may really take 36 minutes.

Leave a Reply

