Moving on – to Palm Desert, CA

2/28/17 Tuesday in Palm Desert, CA (Palm Springs-TT)

Correction to a previous entry regarding a woodpecker I saw here. He came around again and I looked him up in my bird book. He was actually a Red Breasted Sapsucker. That was a first. His whole head plus into his breast was red.

We were on our way by 8:45, but got held up for over 10 minutes at a construction stop on our mountain road. All went pretty smoothly from then on. We took Lytle Creek/Sierra Rd to R>I-210E, to R>I-215S, to R>I-10E, then R>Exit 120 (for Pilot to fuel). Exit 130 gets you to Flying J as well. Then R>Exit 134/Cook St.

I’ve been relying on Sygic (an app I put on my phone) for my GPS, since the old one won’t work with my new computer. It’s better than Waze in that you download the maps you’ll need (each state) when you have free WiFi, then when you’re on the road using it, you aren’t using data from your data plan like you do in Waze. I think Waze is MUCH more user friendly, but you just can’t have everything. Note: Sygic also gobbles your power, so it’s best to have your phone/tablet plugged in when using that program/app. In the above route scenerio all of our GPS plans (MSST, John’s Rand McNally and my Sygic) wanted us to take I-210 all the way to I-10 but the map showed a smoother route in our estimation and it turned out that way, shaving 5 minutes off the trip as well. I’m finding that using Sygic along with our little note showing the route choices is helping wean me from my dependence on MSST (Microsoft Streets and Trips), which is old (2010) and not supported by Microsoft now.

We arrived around 11. The awning guy (Shade Pro) called while we were at Pilot wondering if we were set up. Nope. He waited for us at the pool, which is right where we unhook our toad, so that worked out well for him to do his estimate right there! We have a small pinprick hole that had grown into about ½ inch diameter, so we covered it with sealing tape to hold off the leaking onto our slide top. That led to leaking in Miss Journey. John figures it would be better to replace the whole awning than just repair it. That hole had lots of “children” pinprick holes occurring along a fold line.

I won’t describe this fun filled campground because I just did when we arrived January 10th. I will say it is SO NICE to be in the warmth again. Every day at Mountain Lakes we were in jeans and sweatshirts over our t-shirts. Most evenings John had to bring in our water filter for it would freeze by morning. In fact this morning he needed to get on our roof to clear our toppers/awnings and it had a thin film of ice. We had 2 heaters running all day long, except for mealtimes because we only had 30 amps to work with. NOW we are basking in such warm sunshine that we’ve taken off our sweatshirts and have shorts instead of jeans on. Ahhh.

After lunch we started to enjoy that sunshine with a walk around the campground. Right off the bat we ran into Marilyn, learning they were going to pick up their grandchildren at the airport. They have 3 day passes to Disneyland to enjoy with those sweet grandchildren, as we moved on we saw Jerry and Ying. They encouraged us to come to Candy Bar Bingo, with them. We did. It wasn’t as easy to win here, but Ying and I both managed 2 candy bars each while the guys got zilch. 😦

The great part of this bingo was seeing Betty/Dale there too, along with Len and Gloria. We haven’t seen them for about 2 years when we were on the East coast. So we got to talking, eventually walking to Betty/Dale’s site and visiting until time for supper. After supper we met them and Jack/Jackie at Karaoke to enjoy a number of beautiful singers. Like Betty said, it was like going to a show.

Palm Springs: life in the fast lane.

A photo from our previous stay at Palm Springs – right after a big rain. They’d experienced such a rain the day before we arrived this time, but most of the water was gone.

ps

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

