Moving on – to Acton, CA

3/14/17 Tuesday in Acton, CA (Soledad Canyon-TT)

On our way by 8:35. Smooth getaway, with the temps in the 70’s already. Our route from Palm Springs-TT: L>Varner, R> I-10W, R>I-215N (exit 72), Continue as it becomes I-15N, R>SR 138 (exit 131), L>Pearblossom Hwy, L> Sierra Hwy, L>Soledad Canyon Rd, L>Crown Valley Rd. There was some construction at our exit on to Hwy 138. After several miles we enjoyed lovely new pavement. We’ve taken Hwy 138 to CA14 all the way to Crown Valley Rd before but that entails climbing more mountain, only to go steeply down at Crown Valley Rd. It’s also a longer path. Note: we went from the desert to the canyons/mountains so our elevation increased, lowering our MPG but the good news is the temperatures are also lower! It would be 100 degrees in Palm Springs today, but 82 degrees in Soledad.

We arrived by 11:15, this time we were directed to the Welcome Center parking lot. Here we were given a keycard to pass by the receptor at the gatehouse, so that was fun. It’ll be much better than having to punch digits on a box to make the gate rise, allowing entrance.

We’ve been here in 2012, 2015, 2016, and now 2017. REALLY run down when we were here the first time. They say that ELS has put over $1 million dollars into this park. They certainly have improved the looks: NEW Landscaping, Welcome Center, Family Center, Adult Center, pool (heated) and spa (hot). Once we even saw wildlife (a coyote in the campground on our way to the Welcome Center). Note: I think we hear the coyotes calling/barking at night. Plus there used to be people living here permanently that left lots of crud in their sites. Those are cleaned up, with empty sites available along that section (overlooking the canyon). They are currently working on the power issues, slowly adding 50 amp pedestals. We lucked into a new 50 amp site (free), up the hill in “N” section (N 162), with open skies for satellite reception, along with the FHU. There are trenches they’ve dug. We’re not sure what they’re doing (water? Electricity?). Very large place with over 700 campsites (most are weak 30 amp), with fairly spacious sites. LOTS of great things to see/do in the area that we never had a chance for last time, even a train (Metrolink) that leaves about 6 miles away from Acton for Los Angeles. Great, friendly, helpful staff. Section N is recommended (FHU, cell phone, 50 amp & TV satellite), across a creek, for big rigs

Once we got set up we had lunch and settled in for the afternoon: John watched TV while I worked on the blog and sending messages of our whereabouts.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in California. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

